Book log

I was converting some pdf files to epub with Calibre when I discovered an old entry of Michael Fogus. Back in 2007 he wrote on his blog about books he have read. It was more a kind of a dairy what he had read in this year. This led me to the following question: Is it worth to write a book journal? And the second question: What kind of format could this be? And last what information is it worth to collect?

Let me answer the second question first. In my opinion this could be a simple page in a journal which states in a chronological manner what I have read. Why a journal and not a fancy program? I believe sometimes you can only win if you have the ability to write something in a easy way with colors, mindmaps, different drawings. This work is much easier with pen and paper than with electronic stuff.

The third question what should noted. For me the answer is:

  • the author
  • how do I like this book
  • a kind of classification
  • the duration for reading

The reason for this introduction? I made a sticky note to myself ‘Note the books read’. At this time I was very busy and days became weeks and weeks became months and I started to go through my old notes again and found this sticky note. I needed almost a week to get out what I intended to do. In the meantime I started my book journal. My experience so far? Not really much. But this is only the beginning. I have some long time reading books. One of them is ‘How to read a book’ from Mortimer J. Adler and Charles Van Doren. Why is this a long time reading book? If I will take full advantages of this book I will read as mentioned in the book. Many reading techniques will be uncovered, e.g. pigeon holing, X-raying a book, coming to terms with the author, and many more. The whole fourth part of this book is about syntopical reading. This means how are the various subjects interconnected. This is the point where I hope my journal will help me. Interconnect my reading and my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

